It’s Official: I Suck at This

Whew! Okay, now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, I can move on.

Kind of.

I haven’t posted on this blog in a LONG time. Why? I’m not entirely sure, but I guess the short answer is that I guess I felt I didn’t have anything to say. I kept waiting for a time when thoughts, feverishly percolating within the hat rack above my neck, would cry out for release. As one would expect, it didn’t happen. And it didn’t happen because the act of writing is a craft that needs to be practiced constantly. If you’re not writing all the time, you’re going to get rusty–and it’s going to get a lot easier to concoct any number of ridiculous excuses for not writing. Like┬áhaving to organize my closet, pay my taxes, and steam the carpets.

When I originally started blogging, the focus of my work was on food. Zoe’s dietary needs dictate that we proceed carefully when cooking–and I wanted to share what I had learned with others. And I still want to do that. :-)

Then, I started moving in a different direction, talking about books and other stuff–things like school and family trips, etcetera. I started to get too wound up in the idea that this blog should have one very well-defined focus and that’s it. But then I started to feel suffocated by that idea, and then the words just stopped.

So, I think it’s time that I just write about the stuff I want to write about and remove those self-imposed limitations. Because at the end of the day, I want to know that I put what was on my mind and in my heart on a page (or server, as the case may be). It may not fit into any of those neat and convenient tags or categories I’ve placed on my blog in the past, but I’m okay with that.

2 thoughts on “It’s Official: I Suck at This

  1. Michelle S.

    I completely understand how you feel. I started my blog as a place to put my scrapbooking, cards, art, etc. but it’s turned into what’s relevant to me at that particular time. I’ll post a bit of everything, and I think that’s ok. We don’t want to pigeonhole ourselves because then we’ll just give up all together.

    Reply
  2. Write On, Jana!

    I so totally feel your pain! I started blogging about food as well (my children have severe food allergies) but I realized that I wanted a LIFE, not a meal plan so I backed off on the food blogging (although feeding my children healthfully is still a HUGE concern of mine). I talk more about life, parenting and finding balance in an overwhelming world now and I, too, officially suck at blogging, but I still love to write (and read great blogs like yours).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

