Play-Doh and Gluten Sensitivity

One of the most interesting “fringe benefits” of living gfcf means that your learn about some of the hidden places where common allergens are found. It’s also funny when your friends report to you when they’ve found gluten & casein in unusual places. My friend Stephanie has become a gfcf detective over the past year or so that we’ve been friends. She is very inquisitive, always asking about the diet and what Zoe’s food limitations are (Steph brings her kids over to play with my kids sometimes, and she likes bringing sweets for the kids occasionally).

She called me today to ask me if I was aware that Play-Doh contains gluten. I knew about it, but gluten doesn’t bother Zoe if she touches it–only if she ingests it. Ayden likes playing with Play-Doh, but since he is not gluten sensitive I don’t worry about it. Whenever Zoe comes in contact with it, or other gluten-containing clays, I make sure she thoroughly washes her hands with soap and water to avoid contamination. You know how it goes: kid plays with clay, kid chews own fingernails, puts fingers in mouth, you get the idea.

I gave Stephanie some more information to think about today, which has nothing to do with gluten. Steph’s daughter has a peanut allergy, and Steph mentioned that she was going to go to Chick-Fil-A with her kids. Now, I LOVE Chick-Fil-A. Their fries are gluten free (Take that McDonald’s and BK), and the fried products are fried in peanut oil, which is much healthier than the partially hydrogenated oils most fast food places use. But I had to tell my buddy about the peanut oil because of her daughter’s allergies–I wanted to make sure she didn’t get her daughter anything fried from there because of the potential for allergic reaction. So, it’s grilled chicken and a carrot & raisin salad for her daughter.

Steph and I are destined to become the Cagney and Lacey of food detectives.


4 thoughts on “Play-Doh and Gluten Sensitivity

  1. Lynn Barry

    McDonald’s and BK fries have gluten? Thanks for telling me. I know some places use fries that are rolled in flour to brown them quicker. Is that what is happening at those other places too?
    Thanks, buddy!

  2. Flamenco Mom

    About 6 months ago, McDonalds was pretty much forced to acknowledge that the “natural flavoring” put in their fries contains gluten. There is some info on the gluten controversy on their website.

    In her book “Unraveling the Mystery of Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorder(2000, 2002),” Karyn Seroussi confirms that Burger King introduced a new french fry recipe containing wheat and whey ingredients. BK contends that their fries contain no gluten.

    Some places do coat their fries to enhance the crispness. Another thing we sometimes forget is that in some restaurants fries are cooked in the same fryers as breaded products.

  3. Lynn Barry

    I have been wanting to put an end to my obsession with ze fast food fries so now I know I will…thanks as always for being one of my gluten free palsies…you are delightful!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s