My Yummy Valentine

Today I was jonesin’ for some pancakes. Actually I’ve been wanting pancakes for breakfast for several days now. While at the health food store this weekend I picked up some buckwheat flour; I was inspired by a post I remembered reading a while back on Free to Eat. I contacted Lynn for some advice on making these, consulted with my copy of the Joy of Cooking, and made a few modifications. And today I was rewarded with some scrumptous gfcf buckwheat pancakes. Zoe is not home from school yet to try them, but Ayden has already eaten two of them. Considering that he’s 3, I thought he’d hate them: after all, how many three-year-olds out there like buckwheat? But he really enjoyed them, and told me that I was “a good cooker.”

Gluten Free/Casein Free Buckwheat Pancakes

1 cup buckwheat flour

1/2 cup rice flour

1-1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1 Tbs. sugar

1-1/2 cup almond milk

3 Tbs. canola oil

3 Tbs. molasses

2 eggs

1/2 tsp. vanilla
Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl. In a medium bowl, whisk together wet ingredients. Add wet mixture to dry mixture and whisk until combined–do not overmix. Pour by 1/4 cupfuls onto preheated and greased griddle. Serve hot with maple syrup.

4 thoughts on “My Yummy Valentine

  1. Lynn Barry

    Molasses and almond…NO wonder he said “GOOD COOKER” the flavors together sound amazing. And the pic should be on the cover of a cookbook.YOU ROCK!
    HUGS

    Reply
  2. Flamenco Mom

    Thanks Lynn. And I really appreciate your input on this recipe–my son should be calling you a “good cooker” too.
    HUGS

    Reply
  3. ByTheBay

    Yum! I made buckwheat pancakes on Sunday for my blog and they turned out so terrible I had to throw ’em out. I will try your recipe some time and hopefully fare a bit better 😉

    Reply
  4. Wheat Free

    Those look fantastic! I always like to see examples of pancakes made without cake mix. I’ll have to try that recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

