Inspired by my buddy Lynn at Free to Eat–and fueled by my hankering for pie–I decided to contact Bird’s Eye Foods to ask whether their Comstock brand pie filling is gfcf. I e-mailed them this morning, and here was their reply:
Thank you for taking the time to contact us about Comstock Pie Fillings.
All of the Comstock pie fillings are gluten free. The modified food starch listed in the ingredient statement is corn starch. All of our fruit pie fillings are casein free. You will want to avoid the cream pie fillings, as some of them contain milk.
We value you as a consumer and appreciate your concern.
Birds Eye Foods
I was wondering what to do with those cans of cherry pie filling my mother-in-law bought. Of course, by the time Bird’s Eye got back to me I had already cranked out one apple pie, which I’ll post shortly. Next up after that is cherry pie baby!