Not Bleak At All

I’ve been doing a TON of reading this semester. Reading two or more books simultaneously has proven to be a challenge, but so far my sanity is still intact. I think. What have I been working on? Take, for example, the following:

bleak-house

Bleak House. Nine-hundred and eighty-nine pages of Charles Dickens at his best. I know not everyone out there is a Dickens fan; but if you are, then get thee to a bookstore or library as fast as you can and pick up this book. When I saw this book at the university bookstore–I was buying my textbooks for this semester–I panicked. But I am proud to say that I read it from cover to cover, and I adore this novel.

I just rented the BBC interpretation of the novel (starring Gillian Anderson as Lady Dedlock), and I’m enjoying that as well. Oh, how I love the Victorians!

3 thoughts on “Not Bleak At All

  1. Sarah

    There was also an earlier BBC version in the ’80s starring the lovely Diana Rigg, but aside from her performance, I vastly preferred the more recent version. Gillian Anderson’s Lady Deadlock is just devastating. And never was there a more perfect villain than Charles Dance as Tulkinghorn. We just loved the whole thing.

    To this day, my husband and I still find occasion to shout “Shake me up, Judy!”

    Reply
  2. flamencomom Post author

    Sarah, I have to agree with you on Gillian Anderson and Charles Dance. From what I’ve seen of the series so far, I’ve found their performances to be nothing short of brilliant. I’ve never seen the earlier version of BH with Diana Rigg; perhaps I’ll check that one out sometime. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

