4 Out of 5 Friends and Relatives Tell Me to Frame It

Ever since I went back to school full-time, my competitive side seems to have reemerged in a BIG way. In my first go-round at college, grades were not something I paid much attention to. That’s probably because I was too busy paying attention to the hot guys around campus, drinking WAY too much, and focusing on my tan. Now that I’m older and paying for my education, I actually care about getting good grades. Actually, I care about learning…and kicking some ass grade-wise.

When I finally came up for air this week, I noticed the following letter in my stack of mail. I had to read this letter twice, because I have honestly never seen one of these letters before in my life:

Dear Melinda:

I want to congratulate you for your outstanding academic performance during the Fall Term of 2008! Your grades for that term qualify you for the honor of being named to the College of Arts and Sciences Dean’s List of Scholars.

I am extremely pleased that the academic programs in the College of Arts and Sciences attract students of your caliber. The Dean’s List of Scholars is only awarded to the top ten percent of the majors in our college who are full-time students. You should be very proud of your accomplishment.

Once again, congratulations on being named to the Dean’s List of Scholars and best wishes for your continued success at the University.

It was at this point when I fell out of my chair. Holy crap! My friend Stephanie told me to scan it, make copies, post it on my Facebook page, and mail one to my mom. Okay, maybe my buddy went a little overboard, but I am quite excited about this. Especially since I had a less-than-auspicious beginning to my academic career. And, of course, now I want to get another one for the Spring Term. I’m going to have to load up on some caffeine.

One thought on “4 Out of 5 Friends and Relatives Tell Me to Frame It

  1. Karen

    Girl, I know exactly what you are talking about. I failed 9th grade English 4 times, and never graduated from high school. When I was 39, I took my GED and applied to go to college. I made A’s the whole time I went to college, EVEN in English Lit, and could not believe it.

    congratulations to you, and keep up the good work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

