Product Review: Enjoy Life Crunchy Flax and Enjoy Life Crunchy Rice

In the interest of full disclosure, please note that while I did not receive monetary compensation for this review, the manufacturer did provide me with product samples.

The folks from Enjoy Life Foods (love their allergen-free chocolate chips!) contacted me and asked if I’d be interested in trying some of their products. As you may already know, all Enjoy Life products are free of the eight most common allergens: wheat, dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, soy, fish or shellfish (which is great for those of us with food allergies/sensitivities). Perky’s Nutty Flax and Perky’s Nutty Rice are now a part of the Enjoy Life brand, and so the company has rebranded the cereals under new names. So if you’re already a Perky’s Nutty Rice or Nutty Flax person you will be pleased to know that they haven’t gone away, it’s just now they’re called Enjoy Life Crunchy Rice and Enjoy Life Crunch Flax.

Anyway, I happily accepted the samples—I mean, with the way we go through cereal in this house I’d be crazy not to! And I guess the samples arrived just in time, because Zoe and Ayden tore through those boxes of cereal in NO TIME. In fact, I didn’t even get to try them. I had to go out and buy them myself just so I could get to the review part.

I’m so glad I did, because the cereals are both really good. They’re not very sweet, which I like a lot; I actually like the taste of grains, so when I find something that is not cloyingly sweet, it makes me happy.  They stay crunchy in milk for a long time, something that surprised me because of the fact that the cereal is in small pieces. And my goodness, do I ever hate when ready-to-eat cereal gets mushy. It’s just gross.  Anyway, the cereal also lends itself well to add-ins like fresh fruit: bananas and blueberries were Zoe’s favorite. These kind of reminded me of Grape Nuts, but the taste of the Nutty Rice and Nutty Flax is better…and they don’t hurt my sensitive teeth when I bite into them (Bonus!). I plan on using the cereal for other applications, to see how they function as bread crumbs, or maybe even a pie crust. So I guess there will be even more to talk about with regards to these products in the future!

The bottom line here is that we all really liked both the Crunchy Rice and Crunchy Flax, and we will definitely continue buying them. My local health food store has been running a sale on them, so I’ll be stocking up this week. To find out more about the products, and to find store locations, visit them at www.enjoylifefoods.com.

Leave a comment