Books, School, and GFCF Stuff

So, I had to put Middlemarch down for the time being. It’s not because I’m not enjoying the book; in fact, I was enjoying it a lot. The problem was that with my teacher certification classes (complete with lots of assignments), studying for certification exams,  and lots of busy days at work I wasn’t really able to give the novel the time and attention it deserves. But I will revisit George Eliot very soon. I am finally starting to like her, after all. I need to give that relationship the warm fuzzies it needs to endure.

Gosh, I am such a dork.

Anyway, I just picked up Wide Sargasso Sea yesterday, and it’s going well so far. I know what you’re thinking: “Well, if she doesn’t have much time to read for pleasure, why the hell did she pick up another book?” And that is a valid question, one for which I have a pretty good answer. I’m not trying to take anything away from Jean Rhys (the author) by saying this, but I don’t find Sargasso as demanding a text; therefore, I am able to read it without feeling like I’m sacrificing much time and effort. In other words, I’m approaching this book in a much more casual way than I did with Middlemarch. Does that make sense to anyone else besides me?

In other news, I passed the first of three certification exams I need to take in order to get my teaching certificate. I’m quite relieved. While I didn’t think the test was going to be too difficult, I still had a bit of nerves as test day approached. I’m glad I got over the first hurdle.

I have also started doing fieldwork in local schools, and I gotta say, I really love it. The kids are great, and I had a real “a-ha” moment on my first day of fieldwork. I looked around at the students and was taking in everything going on around me, and it occurred to me that the classroom is really where I belong. It was exhilirating and scary when that moment of recognition finally happened.

This blog has been seriously lacking in GFCF stuff, and I do apologize for that. There just hasn’t been much time; and we’ve really settled into a rhythm with feeding Zoe this way, so there hasn’t been much new to say. I do have some products to write about that we recently sampled, and I’ll try to get on that ASAP.

Leave a Reply

